Choosing A Good Gluten Free Beer

The quest for a gluten free beer that measures up in taste, quality and texture can feel like an endless one. The good news is that the heightened demand for gluten free products has resulted in a massive increase in options for those who are looking for rich, satisfying brews.

What Gluten Free Beer Is Made From

For someone who suffers from Celiac disease or who simply wishes to engage in a healthier and gluten free way of living, the utter cessation from beer drinking can be a real point of contention. Unfortunately, most beers are made directly from the very grains that cause people so much physical pain and which often result in systemic imbalances and dramatic changes in internal pH. Although gluten free beer will hardly have the same texture and quality as those that are not gluten free, there are a wide variety of non-glutinous grains that beer can be made from, many of which manage to provide a relatively comparable experience, these include:

  • Buckwheat
  • Corn
  • Millet
  • Beans
  • Sorghum
  • Quinoa
  • Soybean
  • Rice
  • Tapioca

Choosing One That Suits Your Pallet

If you have ever had an ice-cold beer while dining at a Chinese restaurant, you have probably tried rice beer before. These brews are crisp, flavorful and satisfying, especially for those who enjoy sharp and light-colored beers. There are numerous brands to choose from and if your gluten-free diet has put you in the mind for some suds, this is one of the most popular options to choose from.

There are also fruit beers that can hold an appeal for those who enjoy the bubbly and light composition of champagne. Many of these are a tad sweet and easy on the palate. If you miss the traditional beer flavor, however, these are less likely to hit the mark than a sorghum or rice brand.

When it comes to texture, beers that are made from gluten free barley malt will offer the best head. You can find a number of brands that will fill the glass with a rich, frothy foam. Just like traditional beers, however, these will always have their most optimal taste when served ice cold.

If you are a fan of dark beers, keep an eye out for brands that are made from several non-glutinous grains as well as a few flavorful additions. These can include buckwheat, sorghum and even honey. They provide a deep, crisp taste, a thick, foamy head and a satisfying aftertaste as well.

Things To Look Out For When Choosing Gluten Free Ale

In the interests of protecting the health and well being of consumers (and their own legal interests), most makers of gluten free beer have gone above and beyond to ensure that their products are 100% gluten free. Unfortunately, some filtration processes do not allow for this guarantee as they render gluten virtually undetectable. Thus, shoppers will need to be careful to avoid picking up options that are low-gluten. Another thing that US consumers should note is that US beer manufacturers are legally restricted from adding the words gluten-free on their labels, due to the fact that gluten free is an actual health claim.

About Olivia

Hi there! I'm Olivia and this is my blog where I try to write about different products that I use. If you like my articles please share them. Thank you.

View all posts by Olivia →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *